Oxford in a day : Botanic Garden

IMG_0453

Welcome to the bald Botanic Garden in winter

11:45 a.m.// Botanic Garden

Leaving the Christ Church, I went for a stroll around the neighborhood.

IMG_0436

Bathing in the warming sunshine, soon I reached the Botanic Garden of Oxford University.

IMG_0438

The entrance is at the right. I still regret I didn’t take a photo of the entrance.

Visiting a Botanic Garden during winter was a bad idea?

No, as the staff there said there was a Christmas tree. And I did have high hope for it.

After all, it costed me 5 pounds.

Right after the entrance, there was a running river by the green houses.

IMG_0439

The river by the blinding sunlight. I wonder if someone has ever been drowned fishing here.

To the right of the river, there were a few green houses keeping “exotic” plants.

I envisioned a man-eating plant like this:

tumblr_mmlc4d07kx1qeva83o1_500

From the movie “Little shop of horrors”

Well instead I was greeted by plants commonly found in Hong kong.

IMG_0442

IMG_0443

Well they do have some insect-engulfing species there. I resisted to stick my fingers in them.

IMG_0444

Going pass the green houses, you can see the real garden behind. However it was winter, so…

IMG_0445

IMG_0447

Almost all the trees went bald. Fortunately the grass was still refreshingly green.

By the way where was the promised Christmas Tree?

IMG_0448

Not here!

IMG_0450

Nope, but nice vase. Collecting corrosion and goo here in the open I suppose?

IMG_0451

No, and what the hell is that!

1:00 p.m. // Mission Burrito

Well I got bored eventually and went for tacos. Really good tacos here.

And the hot sauce really made up for the broken promise of the Christmas miracle:

I want a tree, just a Christmas tree… Or actually giving me 5 pounds back would be better.

And you can speak Spanish to the staff there. (Not that I know any Spanish.)

IMG_0449

Next time I will be possibly concluding my visit to Oxford. Not much to write about this time. Hope you had a good laugh.

©Paulus of Sinae (Chan Po Lo Paul) April 2016

Please consider visiting and liking my Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/PaulusOfSinae/

Thank you for reading.

Previous:

Oxford: Christ Church

Oxford Christ Church logo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

